骨质密度

算法方面

Zebra的骨质密度算法运用现有各种目的的断层扫描,以取得骨质密度,所得数值等同于以“双能X线吸收法”(DEXA) 测定骨质密度的T值。
医疗服务提供者可以运用现有的断层扫描数据,为骨折风险升高的病人进行预先筛检,不需要额外的检测或放射程序。所得结果可以用于骨骼健康或骨折预防的项目中,进而降低整体骨折的比例和相关的支出。



有关骨质密度

骨质疏松症影响到50岁以上1/3的女性和1/5的男性,也是全球每年超过900万件骨折的成因。80%有相当风险的人或者未被发现或未受到治疗,而有骨质疏松性骨折的人生活质量也大大衰退 – 25%臀骨骨折的人在骨折后12个月内都住进了疗养院。光是在美国一地,骨质疏松症治疗的支出估计就达到170亿美元。
其中一个用来判断病人是否可能罹患骨质疏松症的指标就是骨质密度。DEXA测定能得到T值,再加上其他风险因子就能知道罹患骨质疏松症的可能性有多高。但是,现在只有少数人会主动监控自己的骨质密度,而且DEXA测定也只有少数人做过,也因此发现骨质疏松症的比例始终偏低。


压缩性骨折

算法方面

Zebra的压缩性骨折侦测算法结合了传统机器视觉的影像分割和卷积神经网络(CNN)的技术,可运用于任何胸腔、腹部和/或骨盆的断层扫描中。该算法能自动地分割脊柱影像,辨识和定位压缩性骨折。这个算法被训练成能区分压缩性骨折、更普遍性的终板退变问题和骨刺。



有关压缩性骨折

骨质疏松性椎体压缩性骨折很常见,绝经后的妇女每四人中就有一人受到影响,而65岁以上的男子则将近每七人就有一人受到影响。椎体压缩性骨折(VCF)是发病、行动能力和功能状态降低的直接成因,尤其是老年患者。及时地以外科手术或微创手术处理椎体压缩性骨折非常有效,但却很少人这么做,部分是因为椎体压缩性骨折经过有效诊断的情况只有不到三分之一。虽然椎体压缩性骨折可能会是感染、创伤或恶性肿瘤带来的结果,但大多数还是因为骨质疏松所造成。因此,在50岁以上的人身上,椎体骨折就成为判断骨质疏松的指标。为了减低其他骨质疏松性骨折发生,对椎体压缩性骨折的侦测就非常重要 – (其中最常发生的就是臀骨骨折)因为诊断可以带来有效预防性的治疗。因此,对于主要治疗和辅助性的预防性介入而言,诊断椎体压缩性骨折非常重要。


有兴趣吗? 请和我们联系。

Bone Health

Bone Density

Background

Osteoporosis affects 1/3 women and 1/5 men over 50 and is responsible for 9M fractures globally every year. 80% of those at risk are not identified or treated, and patients who suffer from an Osteoporotic fracture experience significant degradation in their quality of life – 25% of hip fracture patients end up in a nursing home within 12 months of their fracture. The costs of Osteoporosis treatment are estimated to be $17 Billion in the US alone.

One of the parameters used to identify patients at risk of Osteoporosis is bone density. A DXA scan provides a T-Score, which along with other risk factors gives an indication of the likelihood of Osteoporosis. Unfortunately, few people actively seek to monitor their bone density, and DXA scans are only performed by a small percentage of the population. This perpetuates the low identification rate.


Osteop

Algorithm

As part of its Imaging Analytics platform, Zebra has developed an automated algorithm that uses existing CT scans, performed for any reason, to output a result which is equivalent to the Bone Density T-Score generated by DEXA scans.

Providers can use their existing CT data to conduct prescreening for people with increased risk of fracture, with no need for additional tests or radiation. These can then be targeted for Bone Health or Fracture Prevention programs, reducing overall fracture rates and associated costs.


Vertebral Compression Fractures*

Background

Osteoporotic vertebral compression fractures are common, affecting up to one in four of post -menopausal women and nearly one in seven men over the age of 65. Vertebral compression fractures (VCF) are a direct cause of morbidity, decreasing mobility and functional status particularly among the elderly. Timely surgical or minimally invasive treatment of VCF’s is effective but under-utilized, in part because less than one third of VCF’s are effectively diagnosed. Although VCF’s may be the result of infection, trauma or malignancy, the vast majority are a manifestation of osteoporosis. As such, vertebral fractures are diagnostic of osteoporosis in individuals over the age of 50. Detection of VCF’s is thus paramount in the effort to decrease additional osteoporotic fractures – (the most morbid of which are hip fractures) because the diagnosis may initiate effective preventative treatment. Diagnosing VCF’s is therefore of critical importance for implementation of both primary therapeutic and secondary preventative interventions.


blausen_0250_compressionfracture_vertebrae

Algorithm

The Zebra VCF detection algorithm was developed utilizing a combination of traditional machine vision segmentation and convolutional neural net (CNN) technology and can be applied to any CT of the chest, abdomen and/or pelvis. The algorithm automatically segments the vertebral column, identifies and localizes compression fractures. The algorithm is trained to differentiate between compression fractures and more ubiquitous degenerative endplate degenerative changes and bony osteophytes.

 

*Coming soon.


Interested in learning more? Contact Us